The Plan

So, here’s the deal.  I am American and my wife is French, and we currently live in London.  We are probably going to be moving ‘back’ to the US in the first half of 2010.

So, before moving, I am endeavoring to eat at every restaurant I’ve ever really wanted to go to in the UK.

I know, it’s a tough life, isn’t it😉

My mission, which I have chosen to accept, is to visit every restaurant I ever really wanted to go to in Greater London before heading back to the US

My mission, which I have chosen to accept, is to visit every restaurant I ever really wanted to go to in Greater London before heading back to the US

This means we have quite a tight schedule of some pretty serious eating, which suits me just fine.  I will keep you updated on our outings and also be posting news that I find interesting in relation to food, wine and also travel-related items.

While I have eaten in a lot of amazing places thoughout my time – and I have realized that this is one of my true passions in life – I have never really tried writing about it, so hopefully the results will be worthwhile .

Some upcoming reservations include:

  • Fifteen
  • Le Gavroche
  • Eastside Inn
  • Roussillon
  • Bocca di Lupo
  • Zaika
  • Gordon Ramsay at Claridge’s
  • The Ledbury

I have also started adding some of my favorite places, resources and people on the right-hand side of the site, and will continously update this.

If I have time (and that’s not all too likely as I have a fairly demanding day-job), I will also try to post thoughts and mini-reviews of places I have been before.

I hope you enjoy your time on Laissez Fare, and look forward to hearing from you.

All the best,

LF

6 thoughts on “The Plan

    • Thanks, I’m not sure why people have started commenting on this post again (I think it was my third-ever post), and have now been to all of these I think🙂

  1. Enjoy!

    I found The Ledbury like a Sloane Ranger: it thought it was better than it actually was.

    Roussillon was lovely, but the head chef’s just departed, Mr Gautier, so it’ll be interesting to see how that is.

    Fifteen I’ve only been to for breakfast before hitting Borough Market, but was great.

    • Hi there Michael. I’m not sure why people have begun commenting on this post again (it was one of the first posts on my blog, and the parameters of the blog have evolved a bit since then). I have since been to all of these places. I agree with you on The Ledbury, loved the service and atmosphere, but the food was a bit of a let-down on the evening we went – good but not great. Ironically enough, I just visited Gauthier Soho last night, which was very nice indeed – just as Roussillon was under Alexis’ sure hand. Fifteen Dining Room was exquisite when we went last year, it was one of my favorite meals of 2009.

      Best regards,

      LF

Leave a Reply

